ACFS congratulates Professor Deborah Ralston on her appointment today as a part-time member of the Payments System Board for a term of five years.

Professor Ralston is currently a Professor of Finance at Monash University and Chair of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission’s Digital Finance Advisory Committee. She has held various leadership positions in Australian universities and has extensive experience as a non-executive director. She is a researcher in the financial services sector who has been widely published in the areas of financial regulation, superannuation, innovation and commercialisation. Professor Ralston served as Executive Director of ACFS from 2009 to 2015 and is currently an affiliated expert.

Since 1998, the Payments System Board (PSB) has had responsibility for the payments system policy of the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA). The other members of the PSB are: Dr Philip Lowe (Chair), Ms Michele Bullock (Deputy Chair), Mr Wayne Byres, Ms Gina Cass-Gottlieb, Mr Paul Costello, Mrs Catherine Walter AM and Mr Brian Wilson.

Read the media release by the Hon Scott Morrison MP, Treasurer of the Commonwealth of Australia, announcing the appointment.