The Australian Competition Tribunal is an independent statutory tribunal that hears applications for authorisation of company mergers and acquisitions which would otherwise be prohibited under the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (CCA). The Tribunal also considers appeals on certain Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) decisions, including decisions to grant or refuse merger clearances, reviews of decisions under Part IIIA of the CCA (national access regime), and other authorisation decisions made by the ACCC. Hon Justice John Mansfield AM of the Federal Court will be the new part-time President of the Australian Competition Tribunal. The Australian Competition Tribunal now consists of a part-time President, three Deputy Presidents and nine part-time members.

View Media Release

Contact details:

4x3 Kevin Davis (2)
Professor Kevin Davis
Research Director, Australian Centre for Financial Studies and
Professor of Finance, University of Melbourne
W: +61 3 9666 1050