Finalists for the MFSS 2011 Investment Stewardship Award for Investment Managers are:

  • Australian Ethical Investment;
  • Aviva Investors Australia;
  • Colonial First State Global Asset Management;
  • Goldman Sachs Asset Management & Partners Australia
  • Lend Lease Investment Management Australia; and
  • UCA Funds Management

In announcing the finalists Professor Deborah Ralston, Director, Australian Centre for Financial Studies remarked that each of the Award nominees exhibits all of the qualities that our expert judging panel consider make them excellent stewards of their client’s funds.

Prof Ralston added that each applicant for the Investment Stewardship Award was assessed on their application of environmental, social and governance factors in the areas of investment process, fund governance, risk management, investment philosophy, service quality, and product innovation.

The 2011 winner of the Investment Stewardship Award for Investment Managers will be announced on the night of the Gala Dinner of the Melbourne Financial Services Symposium (MFSS) on Tuesday 1 March 2011. The dinner will provide an opportunity for all six finalists, and especially the Award winner, to be promoted to fund clients and industry peers for their excellence in core aspects of investment management.


Awards are given for separate Investment Manager and Superannuation Funds categories.

The 2010 Investment Manager category winner was AVIVA Investment Management, recognising integrated sustainability into its investment decision making process and ownership. It also demonstrated strong core values of integrity, teamwork, innovation and performance which delivered long term value to its clients.

The 2010 Super fund category winner was Cbus, recognising its robust governance structure and very strong membership servicing and communication culture.

The 2010 judging panel awarded a Commendation to UCA Fund Management for their integration of UNPRI in all their processes.

Applications were screened under strictest confidentiality, by a Judging Panel of experienced finance professionals chaired by John Gall.

The independent judging panel assessed applicants against the following criteria using the application of ESG factors as a benchmark:

  • Investment performance;
  • Governance;
  • Risk management;
  • Investment philosophy;
  • Service quality; and
  • Product innovation.

2011 MFSS sponsors were NOT eligible to apply.

The Melbourne Financial Services Symposium (MFSS) is hosted by the Australian Centre for Financial Studies (ACFS) on behalf of the Victorian financial services community. The Symposium together with the Gala Dinner is considered the premier annual event for the Funds Management industry in Melbourne. In 2011, it runs as a half day program plus Gala Dinner on Tuesday 1 March at the Park Hyatt Melbourne.

Confirmed MFSS 2011 program speakers include:

  • Else F. Bos, Deputy-chairman Executive Committee, Chief Institutional Business PGGM Investments (The Netherlands);
  • Jane Diplock AO, Chairman of the Executive Committee, IOSCO and Chairman of the Securities Commission, (New Zealand);
  • Jonathan Green, Head of Investment Facilities, NSW Treasury Corporation; (Australia)
  • Dr Danyelle Guyatt, Global Head of Research, Responsible Investment, Mercer (London); and
  • Stephen Hiscock, Managing Director, SG Hiscock & Partners (Australia).

For more details on the MFSS program:

Download Media Release

Media contact details:

Deborah Ralston

Professor Deborah Ralston

Director, Australian Centre for Financial Studies

(03) 9666 1050